Integral Logistics Management — Operations Management and Supply Chain Management Within and Across Companies

18.2.3b Quality Planning: Quality Function Deployment (QFD)

Intended learning outcomes: Explain quality function deployment – the house of Quality and 10 steps of implementation.

Continuation from previous subsection (18.2.3).

A typical method used in the quality planning phase is quality function deployment.

Quality function deployment (QFD) is step-by-step development of quality functions. The QFD process uses matrices to translate customer requirements into technical design parameters or characteristics.

To do this, a quality chart called the “House of Quality” is employed as a correlation matrix linking quality characteristics and target values and their tendency. See Figure

Fig.       Quality function deployment: House of Quality and 10 steps of implementation (Source: [Guin93]).

The 10 steps of implementation in Figure are taken from [Guin93]:

  1. Gather customer requirements for the product or service.
  2. Customers weight the importance of each of the requirements.
  3. Ask customers to rate competitors’ products or services.
  4. Technical descriptors. Translate customer requirements into quality characteristics.
  5. Determine relationship matrix between customers’ needs and technical descriptors.
  6. Estimation of the importance of the technical descriptors.
  7. Conduct analysis of competitor’s technical descriptors.
  8. Estimate degree of difficulty, technical feasibility.
  9. Determine target values for each technical descriptor.
  10. Determine variation for each technical descriptor and examine mutual reaction.

Continuation in next subsection (18.2.3c).

Course section 18.2: Subsections and their intended learning outcomes

  • 18.2 Quality Management Tasks at the Operations Level

    Intended learning outcomes: Produce an overview on the Deming Cycle (PDCA Cycle) and the Shewhart Cycle as well as the Six Sigma Phases. Present the phases of quality planning, control, assurance, and activation of the Deming Cycle. Describe the Six-Sigma phases of define, measure, analyze, improve, and control. Differentiate between continual improvement and reengineering.

  • 18.2.1 The Deming Cycle (PDCA Cycle) and the Shewhart Cycle

    Intended learning outcomes: Produce an overview on The Shewhart cycle developed in statistical quality control. Present the Deming cycle. Describe quality management tasks in the Deming cycle.

  • 18.2.2 DMAIC — The Six Sigma Phases

    Intended learning outcomes: Present DMAIC, the Six Sigma phases. Describe the tasks in the Six Sigma phases. Differentiate between DMAIC, RDMAIC, DMAICT, and DMADV.

  • 18.2.3 Quality Planning: PDCA Plan Phase — DMAIC Define Phase

    Intended learning outcomes: Identify the cause of differences between stakeholders’ expectations and actual product or process characteristics.